Archive for November 23rd, 2011

November 23, 2011

A Healing Advantage

During the convalescence from my surgeries, I made sure that I had plenty of uplifting and/or light-hearted books to read. The same philosophy applied to the movies I chose to watch.

When you’re recovering from surgery, every advantage is a healing advantage. It was all about doing what made me feel good.

Books and movies were much more than just a distraction. By carefully selecting reading and viewing materials that were enjoyable to me, I generated a chemical cascade that helped to speed healing, decrease the risk of infection and manage pain.

That’s a pretty good outcome from doing something as simple as reading a book or watching a movie. Wouldn’t you agree?

Drawing exercise: Edwards, Betty, Drawing from the Right Side of the Brain.

