Archive for February 5th, 2012

February 5, 2012

Speed Bumps

It’s a sad state of affairs that it is necessary to put speed bumps in parking lots, to slow down those “heavy-footers”.

However – and this is a pet peeve of mine – there are speed bumps and there are speed bumps.

As we left the Surrey Memorial Parking lot, hip back in joint, I was astounded that more consideration wasn’t made for the people who use that parking lot. I was still quite sore after my ordeal, and even though my husband drove carefully and slowly out of the parking lot, the bumps were enough to rattle crepitous joints, along with my newly popped-back-in hip.

There’s a pharmacy in my neighbourhood that I was considering patronizing  - until I drove into their parking lot. Bone-shaking, teeth-rattling, hip-jarring speed bumps. No, thank you.

Below, you’ll see images of four speed bumps – some better designed than others. What’s your take on the speed bumps you drive over?

