Direct From the Cabbage Patch . . .

. . . to one hot joint!

I have a friend who has walked this earth for nearly one-hundred years. One day, after looking at my particularly swollen knuckles (MCP joints), she advised me to do something that they used as a home remedy, many, many years ago.

So, when I got home, I opened the refrigerator, pulled a leaf off a head of cabbage and placed it across my knuckles, holding it in place with a tensor bandage.

Twenty minutes later, I was astounded by the change. The joint was no longer hot and the swelling had definitely gone down.

I have since used it, along with contrast baths, to help cool my joints.

It’s an inexpensive and non-invasive alternative. According to Wikipedia, cabbage contains significant amounts of an amino acid called glutamine, which has anti-inflammatory properties.

If you do try it, will you let me know if it works for you, please?

Image courtesy of Herman Hooyschuur.

Leave a Reply

