Ah, Canada

Image courtesy of Rob Blissett

There is no doubt about it, living with a chronic illness is expensive. (More about this in a future post.) In the meantime, please visit Lene’s post, where she courageously shares her story on the cost of living with a chronic illness.

Despite the high cost of a chronic illness, I am thankful that I was born in this wonderful country, where I can present my medical card and:

  • visit the doctor
  • go for lab work
  • have specialized tests such as an M.R.I. or C.T. scan
  • be treated at Emergency
  • get in-hospital physiotherapy and occupational therapy
  • have surgery . . .

all without worrying whether I would have to sell my soul, just to seek medical attention.

On this Canada Day, I choose to focus on the positives of our health care system and give thanks for what we still have this system in place. I also wish to express my gratitude to the many wonderful and skilled health care professionals I have had the good fortune to meet.

May future generations have the same, or even better, access to care!

(Health Care Cards are issued by each province or territory. This card allows access to insured health care services.)

2 Comments to “Ah, Canada”

  1. what you said. We really are lucky to live in a country that has such a sane approach to health care.

Leave a Reply

