#340 – Vacuums That Suck

A vacuum is a quick and easy way to clean. For most people.

When purchasing a new vacuum, do pay attention to the weight. I think it would be helpful to shop for a new one when you are flaring. That way, you won’t over-estimate your abilities.

I find that dragging around a canister vacuum can be hard on my back, whereas an upright vacuum puts more strain on my arm and shoulder. A stick vacuum, which is light in weight, often doesn’t have the same amount of suction power as the aforementioned types.

The other problem is that many vacuums require a vice-like grip in order to change attachments, or open compartments. Then, there’s the noise, but that’s an entirely different issue.

We have one of each. (Sadly, I wouldn’t recommend any of them.) Dependent upon what needs to be done and how I’m feeling, Glinda  🙂 will put one of them into service.

Does anyone have one of those robot-type vacuums? Would you put your RA Stamp of Approval on it?

5 Responses to “#340 – Vacuums That Suck”

  1. Hi Marianna,

    I’m sorry that both types of vacuum cleaners end up straining your body…I’m glad you have Glinda to help you out 🙂

    With regards to your question about the robot vacuum cleaner, I will ask my husband’s cousin the next time we talk. They have one and I remember them liking it but I don’t recall if it was “good enough” to replace all their vacuuming needs or whether it was simply used as an adjunct to their regular vacuuming.

    • Hi Dorlee,
      “Glinda”, or “Glenda”, as I erroneously, and perhaps not so humorously wrote is me. LOL!

      That would be great to have a first-hand roomba opinion. Thanks.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

